One year in Ibiza

FullSizeRender.jpg

 

Today one year ago has been a special day for me. 

“Isn’t it crazy how we can look back and just one year ago and realize how much everything has changed? The people who have left and those that have stayed with us. The memories we’ll never forget: the moments we’ll cherish. The victories, the setbacks. And all this happened in just one year.”

For me, as for many of you, 2015 has been a year of big change. In the beginning of the last year I didn’t know which direction to take, what to do and how to change my life for the better… until I made a choice.

My only thought was: “Fuck it, I’m going to Ibiza again!” 🙌🏻

I fell in love with this little island in the Mediterranean Sea in 2009 when I was working there for 4 month as a hotel guest entertainer (for my studies I want to mention;).

I enjoyed the sunshine, the sea and the island so much that since then I wanted to go back. Something was calling me… so one year ago I knew – now or never.

I realized that when you make a decision from the heart, the universe conspires to make it happen! This quote is not just an empty sentence for me anymore, it really is true! What happened then…
Within a couple of weeks I found a well paid job (site note: finding a job in Ibiza is one thing, but finding a well paid job another… so for the fact that I was looking for a job from my laptop in Germany… I was very lucky).

Next step: finding an apartment. Anyone who has been looking for an apartment or even just a room in Ibiza will agree with me that it can be crazyyy difficult to find something that is – let’s say – affordable. But thanks to Facebook and after many hours of searching and requesting, I found a beautiful, beautiful apartment in a really nice area of Ibiza, very close to my work – 3 minutes away from the office where I was working as a Yacht charter manager. It couldn’t have been more perfect.
Unfortunately I had this place only until the summer so I had to move out.

But guess what? I was lucky again and found another apartment right in time for the summer – next street!!! I was the happiest girl and was wondering how all these synchronicities came about. The answer was simple: I just didn’t stop to believe in what seems to be so difficult. 

Ok, so I made the decision to say goodbye Germany and suddenly I had millions of doubts in my mind! Oh boy!

Shall I really do this? What if I fail? Will I feel lonely without friends and family? Is this really the right decision? Will my fears be bigger than my optimism and self-trust? My mind came up with so many worries.

After some breakdowns, I realized that these were just thoughts to guide me in the direction of what it is I really want and that now is the moment to follow my heart and not my mind. 

I had answers to my worries, yes.

Can I fail? Noooo, because it’s impossible to fail when you are taking action steps towards your desires.

What about Loneliness? Well, being by myself is something that I generally enjoy. I’ve been traveling a lot, so I also knew how it is to be away from home… but moving into another country, not being able to visit someone close to you (until you meet new people) was a little scary thought…

But you only grow through your challenges and my wonderful family and friends support me no matter where I am on this planet. So I faced this fear to overcome it.

Right decision? In the end there is no right or wrong. Whatever decision you make in your life, it will always be the perfect decision for this very moment. You can only get richer in experience.

Now I’m just very glad I jumped into the unknown.

But in the end, one of the hardest things was letting go of a relationship with a person that meant so much for me. I know from the bottom of my heart that the relationship I had was a soulmate relationship and it was one of the most beautiful and most challenging I’ve ever had. And let me tell you… I have some experience🙈  With my 27 years I have been in 4 relationships with almost no break in between. My first relationship lasting for 7 years until the age of 19.

But yes, soulmate relationships do end as well… when you have learned from each other what has been necessary to learn. Then you can let go… in love and with a grateful heart.

So, it was the right time to be by myself for myself!

All good things come to an end. The negative ones as well. When a door closes, another door opens and you are ready for the next beautiful adventure in life.

Well, guess what? The universe was laughing out loud and said: I have another plan for you, darling! Story short: I was bringing my first (!) charter clients to a yacht and met… the captain. Nothing happened from one day to the next, but you can see where the story goes (^_^)

One year can be so full of changes, experiences, growth, gratefulness. If you say yes to life and to yourself.

Why am I writing this?

I wish that everyone is following their dreams. Life goes by so quickly and when you postpone your decision day by day, because of your fears and doubts, you’ll never get where you want to be. Trust in the unknown and that everything will fall into place. No matter how scared or depressed you are.

I am very glad to have experienced aaaalllll ups and downs – the last 5-6 years have been tough and rough and uffff, really challenging for me and I finally feel great and empowered again.
Your hard times they are a blessing! If you want to be a diamond you have to go through them with your head up high… they help you to grow, expand your awareness and your heart.

I may write about my story another day, but we all have our masks and smiles on our face to hide and not face what is going on inside. If we want to grow, we have to face vulnerabilty, shame, fear and many other emotions. You are ok. And then you can become empowered. We should not be ashamed of anything. We should open our hearts for each other, because in the end the other one is you. We are one consciousness, one ocean, one awareness. At least that is what I believe. But no matter what you believe in… trust, love and take some time to zoom out of your little mind that is stopping you to be the greatest version of yourself. That’s what I’ve learned.

All in all life is utterly amazing even if it hurts sometimes. Your superpower is your focus. Choose perspectives that are empowering and listen to what your heart is telling you.

For the future I expect many many more positive changes – not just for me but for many people in this world. If you have been struggling the last years: it will get easier, if you decide to move in the direction of love, everything will be well.

“There is nothing to fear but fear itself”—and not even that.

Have a beautiful day and happy Easter 🙂

xx Sarah 🌸

Leave a Reply

