How 10 minutes of meditation a day can change your life

I want to share with you this TED talk by Andy Puddicombe. He studied meditation and perfectly outlines why meditation is so important.

Ask yourself: “When was the last time I took any time to do nothing?” No tv, no music, no distractions – just you, your thoughts and your emotions.

“We are not here for that long anyway but to spent almost half of our life lost in thought and potentially quiet unhappy kind of seems tragic. Especially when there is something we can do about it. When there’s a positive, practical, achievable, scientifically proven technique which allows our mind to be more healthy, to be more mindful and less distracted. (…) It only takes 10 Minutes of your day and impacts your entire life.”

When I started meditating a few years ago, I thought that through meditation I would feel relaxed and relieved immediately… but I  just felt impatience and restlessness and was constantly asking myself if I did everything correctly. Just sitting and doing nothing made me feel super uneasy and uncomfortable. My mind was coming up with x excuses what else I could do instead, and mentally showed me my to-do list for the day.

Back then I felt overwhelmed by these waves of emotions, thoughts and resistance, but I kept going. I’m glad I did. I needed to learn to sit with these feelings and thoughts. It’s very interesting (yes, and sometimes scary) to get to know your boundaries and automatic thought patterns. When you consciously shift your attention to what is going on inside, your journey starts. For me there was no way back. The moment I said yes to myself (and I did that by looking within) life changed. I realized that there was so much more to see, explore, learn, desire, …

The most profound lessons I’ve learned through meditation

– that I’m not my mind

– how to relax physically

– how to relax my awareness/ my focus –> how to let go

– how important it is to not taking my mind too seriously (it is far too often living in the past, the future, and picturing horror stories)

– how to use my mind more efficiently

– how I create “my reality” through imagination/ visualization

– that I still have to learn so much

Also, I’m always surprised that I have many creative ideas during meditation.

Give it a try. Sit curiously. When you start meditating be like a cat who is sitting in front of a mouse-hole waiting for the mouse to come out – wait curiously to see what next thought is coming up (but don’t catch the thought, let it go;)

2 thoughts on “How 10 minutes of meditation a day can change your life

  1. The other day I had a sort of revelation. I’m always worrying about whether what I’m feeling is good or bad, right or wrong. Meditation helps me watch my thoughts and feelings go by without judgment. I realized they are just a natural part of having a body and a mind. They only mean something if I want them to.

    • Hi Maryn! Thanks for sharing your experience. I totally agree. We tend to judge and label our feelings and thoughts instead of just letting the energy pass through us. In fact everything is energy and when we let everything be without judgement (and accept the isness of any given moment) we step into our power and are able to choose what is affecting us and what is not.

Leave a Reply

