This smart, young men is talking about an important topic

… and we all can learn something from him.

13 year-old Logan LaPlante is talking about health and happiness and about our education system that is totally missing out on these two significant areas of life. 

“It seems to me when adults say: „What do you wanna be when you grow up?“ They just assume that you’ll automatically be happy and healthy but maybe that’s not the case. Go to school, go to college, get a job, get married, boom – then you’ll be happy, right?
We don’t seem to make learning how to be happy and healthy a priority in our schools. It’s separate from schools and for some kids it doesn’t exist at all.
What if we didn’t make it separate?
What if we based education on the study and practice of being happy and healthy because that’s what it is: a practice and a simple practice.”

These are the areas we all need to pay more attention to if we want to live a fulfilling life:

– Exercise
– Diet and Nutrition
– Time in Nature
– Contribution and Service
– Relationships
– Recreation
– Relaxation and Stress Management
– Religious and Spiritual

For now – we can only imagine what a huge and positive difference it would make in our society if kids learned the essential elements for a happy and healthy life starting from their first days in school. If more and more people start to see the importance here, we can begin to make small changes.


“When I was 5 years old, my mother always told me that happiness was the key to life. When I went to school, they asked me what I wanted to be when I grew up. I wrote down ‘happy’. They told me I didn’t understand the assignment, and I told them they didn’t understand life.” – John Lennon

 

Leave a Reply

